Cégep celebrates success, commitment, achievement and perseverance

Last night, in front of more than 400 people gathered in the gymnasium, Cégep de Victoriaville and its foundation presented the traditional Méritas Gala. Hundreds of CEGEP students have seen their efforts and determination rewarded with 60 scholarships awarded in the educational, athletic, social and cultural components.

In total, the Foundation awarded $42,560 in scholarships thanks to the commitment of several partners who responded positively to the call, despite the challenging still challenging context. Among these are graduates, employees and employers who, through their donations, encourage the pursuit of higher education in the region. “The granting of scholarships has been one of the primary goals of the Foundation’s mission since 1988. All efforts deserve encouragement, both those made by students for their perseverance, to obtain amazing academic results and those invested in sports and social-cultural activities, community life, or a balance between study family,” confirms Joanne Hamill, CEO of the foundation.

In the educational component, more than 80 students from various study programs in the Pre-University, Technical, Vocational, and Continuing Education sectors have been able to receive Excellence Merit Scholarships in the amount of $600, $300, and $150 or Discipline Excellence Scholarships in the amount of $500.

Students participating in the social and cultural life of Cégep

Social and Cultural Service rewards students in six categories. Initially, Olivier Mercier was crowned Discovery of the Year while Patrick Marchand was awarded the Actor category. For her part, Noémie Laplante took home the award in the singers category and Vincent Poudrier was rewarded for his talents as a musician. The prestigious title of the artist par excellence was awarded to Yann Rossier, who co-hosted the concert evening with Pierre-Luc Houde. Moreover, the exceptional participation and contribution of Jean Matisse Grenier enabled him to obtain the advantages of the category of the same name. Note that the scholarships offered in the Social and Cultural Department are worth $300 each.

Honoring Student Athletes

As for Fulkins, nine scholarships were at stake. The Sportsmanship Scholarship In honor of Jean Laverteau, awarded to the athlete who has demonstrated the greatest sportsmanship, competitive spirit and extraordinary sociability, was awarded to Thomas Bechet, a football athlete. He is also soccer player, Will Nathan Nzo Budoka, who was awarded a scholarship for scholastic perseverance for a student-athlete in honor of Yvonne Barry. Maïka Deshaies, who improved this year on the swim team, was named Rookie of the Year. Unsurprisingly, the Men’s Junior Scholarship is given in honor of Danny Garneau to cross country athlete Nolan Turgeon, winner of several national and international races. All of these athletes managed to get a scholarship of $500 each. We must also mention that the country breakout team was named the best team of the year and consequently managed to win the prestigious Ambassador’s Cup.

The Best Student Athletic Scholarship, for the second year in a row, has been awarded to Mathilde Joslin of the volleyball and indoor soccer teams, who scored twice by also winning a $600 scholarship in the natural sciences program, Health Science Profile. On the men’s side, hockey team Benjamin Rowe won trophies and a $500 purse.

Maud Chabot was named Female Athlete of the Year. She was rewarded for her talent and performance on the women’s rugby team. On the men’s side, Matisse Vallier was declared Sportsman of the Year. The latter enthusiastically defended Volkins’ cross-country colors. He left my Athletes of the Year with a $500 scholarship.

To complete the athletic component, two student-athletes who are members of the Atlas eSports teams were awarded a $500 scholarship. The Best Sportsmanship award was awarded to Clément Guyollot while the Player of the Year award on an equal basis was awarded to Aleksy Isabel and Jerico Labbé-Lanouette.

Outstanding Contributions

Each year, Cégep recognizes the participation of a volunteer committed to student life. Amini Larive, a student from the National School of Furniture and Cabinetry Making, won a $300 scholarship. Chairman of the Student Committee at ENME in Victoriaville, Ameni has conducted various activities to improve student life in addition to being a volunteer in various social, cultural and sporting activities.

Finally, the title of Female Character of the Year was awarded to Anais in Birthium. A brilliant student, president of the Cégep Students’ Union, a Vulkins athlete and a member of various institutional committees, Anaïs is known for her rigor, teamwork and out-of-the-box. On the men’s side, Pierre-Philippe Dusault was named Person of the Year. Impromptu, Fulkins host and athlete, Pierre-Philippe is valued for his creativity, passion and commitment. Both characters are worthy of a $500 scholarship. Note that the Male Person of the Year Scholarship is given in honor of Guy Pouliot, the first president of the Fondation du Cégep de Victoriaville.

“Big congratulations to all of our student nominees and award and scholarship recipients. This wonderful evening has allowed us all to recognize your talent, passion and commitment. The entire college community joins me in telling you how proud we are of you,” said Cégep de Victoriaville General Manager, Denis Deschamps.

For a complete list of recipients, interested persons are welcome to consult www.cegepvicto.ca/meritas.

Leave a Comment